PDA

View Full Version : NOOB Alert: Seeking help from rotary community...

masticatingcow
10-06-2004, 03:26 AM
Hey everyone,

Longtime lurker, new post here...

I have read through the FAQs on this site regarding the FC3S, and still have a general question. Keep in mind that I am new to the rotary engine, so...

A friend of mine is selling his 86 FC for $400. The immediate question is "what's wrong with it?" Well, for starters, the rear body panel behind the driver is pretty badly dented. However, it's purely cosmetic; both the rear axle and frame are straight. Secondly, the high beams do not work. If you play with the switch long enough, then yes, they come on, but the dash lights go out. The driver's door doesn't match the body color, one of the rims is bent (still drivable) and I think there is an exhaust leak. The car has 130,000 miles on it and still runs pretty well. In fact, a lot of the "problems" I thought it had (like high-RPM starts) turned out to be normal RX-7 behavior. So, assuming he is able to pass CA smog this month, I want to buy it.

This will not be my daily driver; I have a 240sx for that. But as a project car, is it worth it? How steep is the learning curve considering the rotary engine and, let's face it, the significantly more sophisticated electronics equipment, from my Nissan?

AusTexRex
10-06-2004, 05:50 AM
As a project it's sure worth it. Though a couple things:
Always careful buying from friends, a car is not worth a relationship
No such thing as a "driveable" bent rim. It'll get you killed.
Get it compression tested. Compression reveals all.

black rocket
10-06-2004, 07:54 AM
How did that rear quarter got dented so badly without being more than cosmetic?

Shaggy
10-06-2004, 09:20 AM
Well, did your friend own that car from the begining? Ask him more questions about it.

Also, Aus has a point..be careful whne paying a car from a friend. It could ruin your friendship.. ;)

masticatingcow
10-07-2004, 01:33 AM